Skip to content

End of year ranking results


With the 2019 Season done we saw some great racing this year. In the Ribadesella club rankings Salmon Leap Canoe Club retained the tittle in dominant fashion. Thomastown Paddlers took 2nd place to win the McClean trophy. The 2nd half of the season saw some new junior paddlers turn out from a number of clubs. We look forward to 2020 to hopefully see growth in the numbers racing from all the clubs.

Position Club Points
1 SLCC 3810
2 TPCC 780
3 Kilcullen CC 520
4 Belfast CC 430
5 WWKC 350
6 ARC 340
7 CPCC 310
10 GALWAY KC 100



In the divisional rankings 3 divisions came down to the wire, only being decided after last week’s race. With a minimum of 5 races required for an end of season ranking the K2/T2 & Canoe divisions had no crew meeting this and therefore have no divisional title this year. A paddlers best 5 races count towards their end of season ranking. For display purposes any paddler with 3 or more races in a division


Division 1:

Ronan Foley (SLCC) took the title with a max of 75pts ahead of Peter Egan (SLCC) on 71 Pts. No other paddler completed 5 races in Division 1 but Matt McCartney (CPCC) got promoted mid-season and took 2 Silvers and a Bronze medal. It will be interesting to see what he can do in 2020.

  • Ronan Foley                 75Pts
  • Peter Egan                    71Pts




Senan Forristal (TPCC) locked down the title with a race win in Robertstown & 71pts. Senan had a great season, taking both the Sella Descent & Liffey Descent Junior men’s titles with another year left in the Junior age group. Behind Sennan was bunch of wily vets.

  • Sennan Forristal                 71Pts
  • Dermot Hudson                  67Pts
  • Deaglan O’Drisceoil           65Pts
  • Donnacha Brennan           64Pts
  • Malcom Banks                    63Pts
  • Alex O’Brien                        54Pts
  • Paul Russell                          51Pts


Division 3:

Paul Donnellan (SLCC) took the title with a max of 75pts. Paul got promoted before the end of the season making him one of the youngest paddlers to earn promoted to Div 2.

  • Paul Donnellan         75Pts
  • Ben Smith                  69Pts
  • Mark Clinton             60Pts
  • Ruairi Bray                59Pts
  • Johnny Barry            49Pts
  • Michael O’Farrell     36Pts


Division 4:

Éabha Ní Drisceoil (SLCC) won the division with 73Pts and was 2019’s highest ranked female paddler. With the number of Junior’s coming through the system this division promises to be stacked in 2020.

  • Éabha Ní Drisceoil      73Pts
  • Dan McCartney           63Pts
  • Terry Smyth                 59Pts


Division 5:

Div 5 came down to the final race with 2 paddlers in the running & only separated by 2 pts. In the End John Healy (WWKC) held on to take the title ahead of Connor Flanigan (SLCC) as the results of the final race did not feature in either paddlers best 5 races.

  • John Healy                   63Pts
  • Conor Flanigan           61Pts
  • Evan Cawley                52Pts


Division 5 Women’s:

2019 saw the return of the Women’s division. We had 22 female paddlers race in the Women’s Division along with a further 20 other female paddlers who paddled in other divisions throughout the year. Mary Fitzgerald (ARC) took the title with 73Pts and was the only paddler with 5 races in this division. There were 3 other Juniors who had 4 races in this Division but also completed a number of races in either Div7  (U15) or in K2 crews. 2020 will be very interesting to see how some of the Junior Women measure up.

  • Mary Fitzgerald           73Pts


Division 6:

Div 6 saw the tightest title race of all. Going into the final race 3 paddlers were within 2 pts of each other. In the end Dermot Forristal (TPCC) took the title ahead of Ger Kearin (KCC) on head to head results. Although Dermot finished 2nd in the final race with Ger in 3rd, it did not improve his best 5 results as he already had only 1st & 2nd positions in his best 5. Ger’s 3rd place did replace a 4th place in his best 5. This put both paddlers on a level 67pts. When points are level it goes to head to head results. There were 7 races that these 2 paddlers raced against each other & Dermot had the better result in 4 of these versus 3 for Ger, giving him the title. Leo Harris (ARC) was a close 3rd with 65 Pts. We hope 2020 will again see some great racing between these guys.

  • Dermot Forristal         67Pts
  • Ger Kearin                   67Pts
  • Leo Harris                   65Pts


Division 7:

The U15 Div 7 saw some great paddling and some massive improvements over the season. Niamh Caffrey (SLCC) took the title with 73pts before moving up to race her last 4 races in the Women’s Div5. Calum Clarke (SLCC) took 2nd place in a close fought battle with Emma Curley (SLCC) in 3rd. We look forward to see what these young guns can do over the coming years.

  • Niamh Caffrey            73Pts
  • Calum Clarke              67Pts
  • Emma Curley              65Pts
  • Tadhg Ryan                 61Pts
  • Adam Pender              61Pts
  • Connor Donnellan     55Pts
  • Sean Noud                   52Pts
  • Joshua Groen              40Pts
  • Sean Durkan               32Pts


The full ranking file will be posted shortly.




%d bloggers like this: