Skip to content

Ribadesella Series Divisional Rankings

This coming weekend sees the final race of the 2019 Ribadesella Ranking Series. While some Divisions are already sewn up, others are still open & could provide some very exciting racing this weekend. With the race series having 11 events the best 5 are counted for ranking.

In Division 1 Ronan Foley has it already sewn up with 6 wins out of 6 races & the max 75pts available over 5 races. Peter Egan has 2nd locked up with consistent Gold & Silver medal performances over the season.

Division 2 has 4 paddlers within 6 points of each other but it is a 2 horse race for the divisional title going into the weekend between Thomastown’s Senan Forristal & Salmon Leap’s Dermot Hudson. Currently Senan has a 2 point lead but a win for either paddler will seal the deal as it would replace a lower result in their top 5 races. If the finish on the same points it goes to how they compared in head to head races throughout the season. To date they have gone head to head 3 times with Senan taking 1 win & Dermot 2. While the win is out of grasp by a single point Donnacha Brennan could still grab 2nd position at the weekend with a win. Lots to race for.

Div 3 has seen some great battles between seasoned veterans of the game & upcoming Juniors. Paul Donnellan has Division 3 in the bag already with the maximum 75 pts & has earned promotion to Division 2 for the final race of the season. Who will come out top in the final race this weekend??

In Division 4 Éabha Ní Drisceoil has locked up the title with 73pts but can make it a perfect 75pts with a win at the weekend.

Division 5 is still up for grabs with a 2 way battle between the wily veteran John Healy from WWKC & the young gun Connor Flannigan of SLCC. Healy has a 2 point lead. A race win for either secures them the title.

The Women’s Division 5 title is all wrapped up by Mary Fitzgerald of ARC.  While the title is out of reach,  2nd place is still up for grabs between 5 different paddlers. It has been great to see the female interest in the sport improve so much over the last 12 months

Division 6 is another race to the end between Dermot Forristal (TPCC) on 67pts, Ger Kearin (KCC) on 66pts & Leo Harris (ARC) on 65 pts. It’s quite simple, a win for any paddler & the title is theirs. If someone else takes the win this weekend there are a myriad of possible outcomes depending on placings.

The Under 15’s Div 7 title is already locked down by Niamh Caffrey of SLCC who has moved up to race in the Women’s Div5 for the last few races of the season. 2nd place is still up for grabs between a number of you paddlers from SLCC & TPCC.

K2/T2 has the Caffrey’s head up the title hunt with a 12 point lead over Toomey/Logan & the Keatings both of SLCC. While 12 points sounds like a lot in K2/T2 the points are awarded per paddler rather than boat so 12 points is far from insurmountable.

The Canoe class has no one with more than 2 races through the year meaning no one will have an end of year ranking.

Check out the club rankings HERE

Below are the top 5 for each Division

Division 1
Name Club Pts
Ronan Foley SLCC 75
Peter Egan SLCC 71
Matthew McCarthy CPCC 38
Gary Mawer SLCC 37
Fergus Cooper Contrast 33
Division 2
Name Club Pts
Senan Forristal TPCC 69
Dermot Hudson SLCC 67
Donnacha Brennan TPCC 64
Malcom Banks SLCC 63
Alex O’Brian CPCC 53
Division 3
Name Club Pts
Paul Donnellan SLCC 75
Ben Smith SLCC 66
Mark Clinton SLCC 60
Ruairi Bray SLCC 56
Johnny Barry KCC 40
Division 4
Name Club Pts
Eabha N Drisceoil SLCC 73
Terry Smyth ARC 59
Senan O’Neill TPCC 52
Dan McCartney CPCC 48
Kate McCarthy SLCC 39
Division 5
Name Club Pts
John Healy WWKC 63
Conor Flanigan SLCC 61
Evan Cawley SLCC 52
Noah McGivern BCC 41
Drew Totton BCC 35
Division 5 Womens
Name Club Pts
Mary Fitzgerald ARC 73
Aoibhin Ni Bhroin GKC 43
Niamh Caffrey SLCC 42
Ashla Copeland SLCC 38
Lilly Morrissey SLCC 34
Eabha Murray SLCC 33
Division 6
Name Club Pts
Dermot Forristal TPCC 67
Ger Kearin KCC 66
Leo Harris ARC 65
Michael McLoughlin KCC 21
Drew Bradley BCC 15
Division 7
Name Club Pts
Niamh Caffrey SLCC 73
Calum Clarke SLCC 64
Tadgh Ryan TPCC 61
Adam Pender TPCC 61
Connor Donnellan SLCC 54
Name Club Name Club Pts
Colin Caffrey SLCC Karen Caffrey SLCC 78
Jeff Toomey SLCC Luke Logan SLCC 66
Mick Keating SLCC Breda Keating SLCC 66
Jenny Egan SLCC Jon Simmons SLCC 60
Brian Nolan WWKC Ian Martin WWKC 50
Colin Caffrey SLCC Eabha Murrayy SLCC 44



%d bloggers like this: