Skip to content


For the 2018 season we are restructuring the ranking race series. We will run 2 series in parallel along with our National Championships.

  1. Ribadesella National Ranking Series – Comprising of 8 flatwater races with the best 5 counting towards a paddlers ranking. Club points from these races will count for the Ribadesella trophy.
  2. Descent Racing Ranking Series – Comprising of 4 river races with the best 3 counting towards a paddlers ranking. Club points from these races do not count towards the Ribadesella trophy.

Also new to this year we have a double header marathon race weekend in Enniskillen and Belturbet in June. Along with our marathon double header we have the Cork race paired the same weekend as the Ocean to City race & the City of the Tribes race is paired with the Galway Bay sea kayak race

National Championships:

Date Race Location
23 June K1 National Championships Lough Rynn, Leitrim
24 June K2 National Championships Lough Rynn, Leitrim

Ribadesella Series:

Date Race Club/Contact
8 April Grand Canal Marathon – Celbridge CPCC
20 May City of The Tribes Marathon Kayakmor
3 June Cork City Marathon  Lawrence Buckley/ Ciaran Cooke
9 June Enniskillen Marathon Erne Paddlers
10 June Belturbet Marathon Cavan CC
30 June Carrick on Shannon Marathon Breffni Hyland
18 Aug Salmon Leap Marathon SLCC
30 Sep Robertstown KCC

Descent Series:

Date Race Club/Contact
29 April Ballymore Eustace – Kilcullen KCC
Postponed Upper Liffey CMI
12 Aug Nore – Thomastown TPCC
1 Sep Lower Liffey Canoe Centre

Non Ranking Races:

Date Race Club
25 March Athy Marathon ARC
15 April Suir Descent Tadhg De Barra
Cancelled Lake to Sea CI
19 May Junior Liffey Descent CI
14 July The Creteboom Classic, Ballina MOY CC
Cancelled River Warrior, Sligo Aisa Cooper
Cancelled Newry Marathon Newry CC
15 Sep Liffey Descent CI
%d bloggers like this: